What To Do With a Felony Charge
What could be more serious than getting arrested? Facing a felony charge. In Florida, felony charges are considered more serious and therefore punished with more seriousness. To avoid long stays in Pinellas County Jail, post bail with the help of Al Estes Bail Bonds. We can help get you back home to your loved ones so you can better prepare yourself for court. Contact us today at 727-571-9999 when you need felony bail in St. Petersburg, FL.
What is a Felony Charge?
In the state of Florida, a felony charge is defined as a crime that typically involves violence against another. In most courts, felonies are regarded as more serious than misdemeanors, thus they carry more serious punishments. Most charges will include jail or prison time with a fine. Unless otherwise specified, anyone with a felony charge can post bail. You may need to in order to get yourself and your case together before your court hearing. For that, rely on Al Estes Bail Bonds. We provide emergency bail services when you need them as well as bail for a felony, misdemeanor, and other charges. You can trust us to help get you back on your feet and ready to defend yourself in court.
A first-degree felony in the state of Florida is considered one of the most serious charges an individual can face in the criminal circuit. First degree felonies can usually result in upwards of 30 years in state prison as well as a fine up to $10,000. The state classifies examples of first degree offenses as aggravated assault, drug possession, kidnapping, and more.
Second-degree felonies are not punished as seriously as first degree felonies but that does not make them any less serious. This charge can result in a prison sentence up to 15 years and a fine of no more than $10,000. A second-degree felony is examples could be child abuse, possession of a drug with intent to sell, or sexual battery.
The least serious of the bunch but by no means any less serious, third-degree felonies are another charge a Floridian can face. With this charge, an individual could see punishment up to 5 years in prison with a fine up to $5,000. Examples of a third-degree felony could be resisting arrest with violence, forgery with the intent to defraud, or a 3rd subsequent DUI.