Concealed Carry in the Sunshine State
Owning a firearm or a weapon of any kind in the state of Florida is lawful with the proper documentation. However, even with documentation, there is a level of expectation that you will use good judgment when carrying or possibly using the said weapon. You can be arrested and need a weapons violation bail in St. Petersburg, FL. Keep reading to learn how this can happen in a concealed carry state. And call us at 727-571-9999 for a free estimate.
Can You Be Arrested for Carrying a Weapon?
In Florida, there are actually two classifications for weapons charges: gun or weapons offenses and gun or weapons enhancements. We are a stand your ground state with the right to carry a concealed gun with valid registration and licensing. That being said, you can still be arrested and charged with a weapons violation. So how can you be arrested for possessing a weapon or firearm?
The most common reasons for a weapons arrest are unlicensed carrying of a firearm or weapon, improper exhibition of a weapon or firearm, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, and more. Again, Florida allows the right to carry a concealed firearm with valid licensing. The state does not allow for individuals to carry concealed weapons such as brass knuckles, throwing stars, and more.
- Carrying a Concealed Firearm Without a License: this a third-degree felony in the state and punishable by up to 5-years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
- Carrying a Concealed Weapon Without a License: like carrying an unlicensed firearm, however, weapons in question would be brass knuckles, chemical sprays, and the like. In the state, this is a first-degree misdemeanor and punishable by up to 1-year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
- Improper Exhibition of a Weapon or Firearm: this means your behavior with a weapon, licensed or not, was a threat to public safety. According to the law, this act is a first-degree misdemeanor and punishment is up to 1-year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
- Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon: this is completely illegal and punishable by a prison term up to 15 years with a fine up to $10,000.
Just about any weapons charge can be fought with proper documentation and defense arguments. The best way to make a case for yourself is to make bail and start preparing your argument. To do that, rely on Al Estes Bail Bonds. We can offer a free estimate for your bail right now.